Common Tragedies

Thoughts on Environmental Economics

Assorted links

Posted by Daniel Hall on July 8, 2008

Sometimes I wish the internet would slow down. There is just too much interesting stuff out there.

1. I don’t think I would want Bryan Caplan as a neighbor, since he seems to think pissing on my front steps is A-OK. Mike Moffatt snaps back.

2. Quiz time! See if you can spot all of the errors in this horribly glib Megan McArdle post on emissions permit allocation. Bonus points for citing previous CT posts that provide rebuttals in the comments.

3. RealClimate puts concerns about the global warming impacts from flat screen TVs in perspective.

4. “Free” roads — available for only $2.22 in gases taxes per gallon! What a steal!

5. Free Exchange is hosting a discussion on global inflation this week. Many interesting comments on the rise in energy and food prices.

6. Speaking of the food crisis, here are some sensible policy recommendations, starting with the no-brainer (and non-starter) idea of making U.S. food aid cash rather than crops.

7. I discussed the G-8 summit last week while guest-blogging at Free Exchange. Leaders at the summit have pledged to cut greenhouse gas emissions by 50% from current levels by 2050. Cue muffled laughterAddendum: Creative ambiguity — whether the 50% cut is from current or 1990 levels was left undefined.

3 Responses to “Assorted links”

  1. “1. I don’t think I would want Bryan Caplan as a neighbor, since he seems to think pissing on my front steps is A-OK. Mike Moffatt snaps back.”

    I was trying to be as nice as possible. I don’t want to get a reputation for being an angry jerk, but I’m afraid it may be too late. :)

  2. Daniel Hall said

    Mike, I meant “snaps back” as in “provides sharp, witty retort” rather than “lashes out in anger”. (Or possibly as in, “Oh, snap, Mike Moffatt just threw down on Bryan Caplan!” ) But I can see how some readers would get the wrong impression. I didn’t intend to besmirch your character!

    Readers, please read Mike’s post and observe the respectful tone and marvel at the subtle skewering employed on Bryan. There is much for you to learn from Mike.

  3. “Mike, I meant “snaps back” as in “provides sharp, witty retort” rather than “lashes out in anger”. (Or possibly as in, “Oh, snap, Mike Moffatt just threw down on Bryan Caplan!” ) But I can see how some readers would get the wrong impression. I didn’t intend to besmirch your character!”

    LOL.. no worries. I assumed that’s what you meant. :)

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

